Clinical Investigators

Christopher Rowe


Prof Rowe BMBS, FRACP, MD, FAANMS is a nuclear medicine physician and neurologist, with over 20 years of experience in dementia research and patient care. He is the Director of Molecular Imaging Research at Austin Health, Melbourne, Professorial Fellow University of Melbourne, a NHMRC Practitioner Fellow and is the inaugural Director of the Australian Dementia Network. His research focus is molecular imaging of neurodegenerative diseases, particularly AD, for better understanding, earlier more accurate detection, and to facilitate development of early therapeutic interventions. He has over 300 publications and is in the 2018 Highly Cited Researcher list of the top 1% world-wide for neuroscience and has received the 2011 US Society of Nuclear Medicine Kuhl-Lassen Award for Outstanding Contribution to Brain Imaging and the 2016 Christopher Clark Award for advancing human amyloid imaging.

Perminder Sachdev

Deputy Director

Prof Sachdev AM MBBS MD FRANZCP PhD FAHMS is Scientia Professor of Neuropsychiatry, Co-Director of the Centre for Healthy Brain Ageing (CHeBA) in the School of Psychiatry, UNSW Sydney, and Clinical Director of the Neuropsychiatric Institute (NPI) at the Prince of Wales Hospital, Sydney, Australia. His major areas of research are drug-induced movement disorders, brain imaging, cognitive ageing and dementia. He has published over 600 peer-reviewed journal papers and 6 books, including one for lay readers (The Yipping Tiger and other tales from the neuropsychiatric clinic) and a book of poems (A migrant’s musings). He was named NSW Scientist of the year for Biomedical Sciences in 2010. In 2011, he was appointed Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for services to medical research. In 2018, he won the DARF-Yulgilbar Innovation Award for dementia research.

Stephanie Ward

Clinical Quality Registry Lead

Dr Ward BMed FRACP MPH is a practising geriatrician based at the Prince of Wales Hospital, Sydney, experienced in the diagnosis and care of persons living with dementia and cognitive impairment in a variety of settings and was involved in establishing the pilot dementia clinical quality registry project at Monash University. She leads clinician engagement with the ADNet Registry.

Sharon Naismith

Memory Clinics Lead

Prof Naismith is a Clinical Neuropsychologist, NHMRC Dementia Leadership Fellow and Heads the Healthy Brain Ageing Program at the Brain and Mind Centre. Her work focuses on modifiable risk factors for dementia and clinical interventions for early cognitive decline including cognitive training, sleep and pharmacological interventions. She leads an NHMRC Centre of Research Excellence to ‘Optimise Sleep in Brain Ageing and Neurodegeneration (CogSleep).

Colin Masters

Screening and Trials Lead

Prof Masters' career over the last 35 years is widely acknowledged as having had a major influence on Alzheimer’s disease research worldwide, particularly the collaborative studies conducted with Konrad Beyreuther in which they discovered the proteolytic neuronal origin of the Aβ amyloid protein which causes Alzheimer’s disease. More recently, his focus has been on describing the natural history of Alzheimer’s disease as a necessary preparatory step for therapeutic disease modification. His achievements have been recognised by the receipt of many international awards.

Michael Breakspear

Technology Lead

Prof Breakspear MB BS, PhD, FRANZCP is a professor of neuroscience at the University of Newcastle and a consultant psychiatrist. He runs a research program of computational and translational neuroimaging. He is lead CI of the technological arm of ADNeT.

Susannah Ahern

Prof Ahern MBBS (Hons), MBA, FRACMA, PhD, is the Head of the Registry Sciences Unit, Monash University Department of Public Health and Preventative Medicine. She has extensive experience in the development and management of clinical quality registries and brings this experience and the IT facilities of Monash University that are essential for the successful development and implementation of the national Dementia CQR.

Kaarin Anstey

Prof Anstey BA (Hons) Syd., PhD Qld., FASSA, FAPS is a Scientia Professor and Director of the UNSW Ageing Futures Institute, and a Senior Principal Research Scientist at NeuRA. She leads an NHMRC Centre of Research Excellence in Cognitive Health, is a director of the NHMRC Dementia Centre for Research Collaboration and Co-Deputy Director of the ARC Centre of Excellence in Population Ageing Research.

Henry Brodaty

Prof Brodaty AO, MB BS, MD, DSc, FRACP, FRANZCP, FAHMS is a researcher, clinician, policy advisor and strong advocate for people with dementia and their carers. At UNSW Sydney, he is Scientia Professor of Ageing and Mental Health, Co-Director of the Centre for Healthy Brain Ageing, and Director, Dementia Centre for Research Collaboration. He has over 500 publications in refereed journals, is senior psychogeriatrician and Head of the Memory Clinic at POW Hospital. He was previously President of International Psychogeriatric Association, Chairman of Alzheimer’s Disease International, and President of Alzheimer’s Australia NSW and Australia. He is an officer of the Order of Australia and Ryman Prize winner.

Ralph Martins

Prof Martins holds a joint academic appointment – Foundation Professor and Inaugural Chair in Ageing and Alzheimer’s (Edith Cowan University) and Professor in Biomedical Sciences (Macquarie University). His groundbreaking discoveries include the seminal discovery of beta-amyloid and its precursor, the amyloid precursor protein (APP), found in the brains of Alzheimer’s patients which is now universally acknowledged as being fundamental to the molecular pathology of Alzheimer’s disease.

James Vickers

Prof Vickers is the Director of the Wicking Dementia Centre. His main research areas are in neurodegenerative conditions, particularly Alzheimer’s disease, as well as neural injury and plasticity. His research extends from human brain research through to experimental models and interventional cohort studies.