Australian Dementia Research Forum – VIP Drinks 30th May 2022

While the ADRF2022 was delivered virtually, ADNeT was delighted to facilitate face-to-face drinks in cities across Australia on the first evening of the forum, with events in Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane, Adelaide, and Perth.


Guests at the Melbourne welcome event included Deputy Lord Mayor Nick Reece who spoke of his personal connection with dementia and expressed his support of dementia research, CEO of Dementia Australia Maree McCabe, the team at the National Ageing Research Institute (NARI) including Associate Professor and Acting CEO Frances Batchelor, the team from Neuroscience Trials Australia including CEO Dr Irene Kourtis.  One very special guest, ADNeT Chairman Professor Graeme Samuel AC, was celebrated with a surprise cake on the eve of his birthday.

Professor Chris Rowe – Director, ADNeT
Mr Graeme Samuel AC – Chairman, ADNeT
Nick Reece – Deputy Lord Mayor, City of Melbourne
Associate Professor Frances Batchelor – Acting CEO, NARI
Associate Professor Frances Batchelor – Acting CEO, NARI
Dr Irene Kourtis – CEO, Neuroscience Trials Australia
The team from the National Ageing Research Institute

Neuroscience Trials Australia

ADNeT Chairman Graeme Samuel with his birthday cake


The Adelaide drinks event was hosted by Professor Maria Crotty, ADNeT South Australia Lead.  We extend our thanks to Professor Steve Wesselingh, Director of South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute (SAHMRI) and SAHMRI’s support of ADRF2022.

Professor Maria Crotty
Dr Miia Rahja
Dr Cathy Short


We thank QIMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute for supporting the ADRF2022 VIP drinks in Brisbane.  Guests included ADNeT Registry geriatricians, Sarah Medland, Program Director of the Mental Health and Neuroscience Research Program at QIMRB, and Elizabeth Coulson, Group Leader in Dementia Research, Clem Jones Centre for Ageing Dementia Research, and Professor, Queensland Brain Institute.

Welcome video from ADNeT Deputy Director Professor Perminder Sachdev

Associate Professors Nadeeka Dissanayaka and Michelle Lupton


L-R: Dr Eugene Hone, Mrs Diane Collins, Associate Professor Stephanie Rainey-Smith (co-host)








Mr Enzo Sirna, Ms Naomi Moylan, Associate Professor Hamid Sohrabi (co-host)
Mr Kevin Taddei & Dr Darshan Trivedi
Dr Prashant Bharadwaj (organising host) and Dr Athanasios Gaitatzis
Ms Liza Dunne